Early Morning Rain

5 Jan

I awoke around 3 a.m. this morning to go to the bathroom. I noticed a flashing light outside. I went to our first floor landing to get a better view from the 10-foot-tall window there. All was quiet and dark until suddenly off in the distance the sky lit up near the horizon. The light went out as soon as it had gone on. Then again and again. Bursts of light melting into darkness. There were no bolts of lightning to see. Not even the faintest rumble of thunder. I stood transfixed by the light show for a while. Briefly I wondered if the source of the light was from something altogether different and unnatural. I squelched that thought as I climbed back into bed and tried to go back to sleep.

It was raining when I arose at 7 a.m. That must have been a distant winter storm I’d seen in the early morning hours. I’ll try not to let my imagination get the best of me next time.

Leave a Reply

