Exploring Kfar Shmaryahu

12 Jan

Macchiato

Macchiato in Kfar Shmaryahu

I walked to Kfar Shmaryahu today — a part of town I hadn’t visited before today. It’s about a 25-minute walk from our house taking a footbridge over the A2 and walking north parallel to the coast. I had an appointment to get my haircut at a salon recommended by L. I arrived early so had a chance to browse the shops in the shopping center where the salon is located. I finally found a shop with some stationery items and bought a little notebook to carry in my purse. There was a chic looking wine shop and a green grocer not to mention a pet supply store that offers free delivery. I stopped at one of several cafes and had a delicious macchiato.

Then on to Ronen salon, tucked in a small space but with all the services you’d expect from a full service salon. I was befriended by another client, an Israeli woman who began chatting with me about the neighborhood and then proceeded to help me choose the color Ronen would use on my hair. Ronen was nice and spoke good English, as did his assistant Diana. Ronen mixed the color, Diana applied it and then shampooed my hair. Ronen cut my hair and then instructed Diana on how to blow dry it. Ronen finished up the blow drying and made some final adjustments to the cut. Interesting work flow. Ronen has an impressive list of clients, including the U.S. Ambassador to Israel (and the two ambassadors who preceded him).

After my hair was done I popped into a little gourmet shop nearby. I was very impressed by their offerings. Decent looking ground beef. Pork tenderloin and bacon! Wonderful baked goods. A good selection of imported and local cheeses. Yummy looking prepared foods. A nice wine selection, gourmet olive oil and vinegars.

I’ll definitely add Kfar Shmaryahu to my list of shopping locations.

Leave a Reply

