Israel Museum with the IWC

13 Jan

The Shrine of the Book

The Shrine of the Book

The Last Supper by Adi Nes

The Last Supper by Adi Nes, one of the museum's more controversial works of art.

I went on a trip to the Israel Museum with the International Women’s Club. Meeting the women of the IWC was just as interesting as the museum. The IWC in Tel Aviv has members from many different countries. Half the membership are Israeli and the other half are ex-pats. The mission of the IWC is “to help members of the diplomatic and international community in each country to settle into their new surroundings, enjoy their stay and learn something of the country they are staying in and its people and above all, to promote understanding and friendship between the members of the club.” The club sponsors many events and social gatherings.I’m hoping to participate in Italian classes and/or an Italian conversational group and a book club.

The plan for the day was to meet at DeShalit Square in Herzliya where we would board a bus for museum, located in Jerusalem. I’d corresponded with women from the group by email but had not met anyone in person yet. I was a bit nervous as I approached the group of women gathered in the square whom I’d assumed where members of the IWC. I introduced myself to one of the women and was greeted warmly and introduced to others nearby. They were all a bit worried for me, saying I hadn’t dressed warmly enough for Jerusalem. “You know it’s always colder in Jerusalem, dear.” R, who is Israeli but originally from South Africa, took me under her wing, sat next to me on the bus and we chatted on the hour-long ride to Jerusalem. They were right about the weather. It was quite chilly and windy upon our arrival but since we spent most of our time indoors it really wasn’t a problem.

The Israel Museum was phenomenal. It was founded in 1965 as Israel’s national museum. The museum has recently undergone renovation and the “renewed” museum was reopened last July. The museum is comprised of several buildings as well as a large sculpture garden. Its collections range from archaeology and antiquities to modern art. One of the prize collections of the museum are the Dead Sea Scrolls, housed in a strikingly designed building. During our day at the museum I feel I barely scratched the surface. I think this museum will deserve multiple visits.

The ladies were a lively chatty bunch. Someone brought wine for the ride home, paper cups were passed ’round and we all sipped on the wine. I exchanged phone numbers with some of the women with promises of getting together for coffee soon.

2 Responses to “Israel Museum with the IWC”

  1. Domenica January 15, 2011 at 1:59 am #

    Wow…does the museum also have any of the nag hamadi texts? I would love to see them!

    • Lenora Genovese January 15, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      I don’t think so Domenica. I’ve never heard of them before but just checked on Wikipedia and it appears they are in a museum in Cairo. BTW, even though I loved the architecture of the Shrine of the Book I was disappointed in how the scrolls were displayed. Of course the room has low light but the display cases were lit from above. If I were a little taller I could have viewed the scrolls without the reflections from the lights directly on top of them.

Leave a Reply

