A Walk To Old Jaffa

19 Jan

Napoleon in Old Jaffa

Napoleon in Old Jaffa

I got up early this morning to catch the shuttle into town with Brad. I had a couple of appointments at the embassy in the morning then spent the afternoon on my own in Tel Aviv. I walked from the embassy to Old Jaffa. It’s a healthy walk that took me about an hour. I could have made it in about half that time if I’d taken a direct route and hadn’t stopped for photo opportunities. I was strolling alongside the Mediterranean most of the way. It was a beautiful sunny day; people were playing frisbee on the beach but I don’t recall seeing any swimmers or sunbathers. It was very quiet in Old Jaffa. I’d gotten there about 3 p.m and there was hardly any activity on the streets. I was disappointed to see that the visitor center was closed for renovations. I decided to sit down and treat myself to a cappuccino at a lovely little cafe in Kikar Kedumim. I thought back to the days when I was really afraid about living in Tel Aviv. And there I was, having walked through the city on my own, without a care in the world.

4 Responses to “A Walk To Old Jaffa”

  1. Alan January 21, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Any idea what the sign being held by the plaster gent in the cocked hat reads?

    • Lenora Genovese January 22, 2011 at 7:38 am #

      Hi Alan! It reads “Historical Site” If you click on the image you will be able to view a larger version.

      • Alan Wellikoff January 22, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

        Ah! Click on the image. What a concept! (Now I feel silly).

        It’s great reading the blog and experiencing your discoveries with you. Glad you seem to be enjoying yourself.

        Alan

  2. Lenora Genovese January 22, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    thanks Alan.

Leave a Reply

