No Room For Grandma

30 Jan

Grandma Genovese

Grandma Genovese Won't Fit In My Kitchen

I haven’t updated my blog in awhile…we’ve been doing our best to unpack and organize our house. I started with the kitchen. We have plenty of cabinet space to accommodate all our dishes, cups, platters, utensils etc. Those items have all been put away. I don’t have a lot of counter space, however, so the Kitchen Aid, food processor and blender are stored in the cabinets in the laundry room. Now I have to figure out what to do with all the items I normally decorate my kitchen with. The cabinets go straight to the ceiling so I don’t have any of that top of the cabinet space that I used at home. I already mentioned the precious little counter space. And…there is barely any wall space. Where, oh where, am I going to place the portrait of Grandma that Domenica made and gave to me? Grandma usually always presides over our kitchen. It looks like I’ll have to move Grandma to another room.

8 Responses to “No Room For Grandma”

  1. Domenica January 30, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    grandma will have to watch from another room…she’ll be there in spirit if you need her. : )

  2. JoAnn January 31, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    What’s that nook space to the left of Grandma? Put her there!

  3. taelcat January 31, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Oh. Nevermind. That looks like the stove.

  4. Caren February 17, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Lenora, Just catching up on your blog, which is great reading!! I have a portrait of your Grandma in my living room, near the signed studio announcement of a Roy Lichtenstein show (courtesy of the autograph dealer in the family!). The Lichtenstein print on the announcement is one of the interior series (a living room). I think that the Grandma portrait and the Lichtenstein card look great together, — they capture what I want my house to look like, and Grandma, by the way, looks great in any room!! Hope you found a place for her!!

  5. Caren February 17, 2011 at 12:09 am #

    Oh– and I am going to be better at keeping up with your blog, now that things have calmed down here!

    • Lenora Genovese February 17, 2011 at 7:33 am #

      Hi Caren! Still getting settled in down here and have not hung any pictures yet. Next time I visit I wanna see the Lichtenstein print with autograph — how cool. Glad to hear things are calming down.

Leave a Reply

