Seven Stars Mall

11 Feb

Cappuccino and Sandwich at Aroma Cafe

Cappuccino and Sandwich at Aroma Cafe

Koi Pond at Aroma Cafe

Koi Pond at Aroma Cafe

Koi

Koi

Today I walked to Seven Stars Mall. I didn’t have the car but I felt like walking there for several reasons:

I had heard that on Fridays there are vendors at the mall selling ready-made foods for those who follow the shabbat laws and can’t prepare their meals for the weekend. A friend of mine said the food is pretty good, so I wanted to give it a try.
There is a large bookstore in the mall and I was hoping I’d be able to find a wall calendar there.
The exercise would be good.
I haven’t walked to a mall since I was a teenager.

I arrived around 11:30 a.m. and there was no sign of food vendors. I thought, well maybe they don’t set up till closer to 2 p.m. when the mall closes for the sabbath. So I wandered through the mall taking note of what stores are there. It’s much like a mall in the States, except this one has a game room and bowling alley in a lower floor. I went to the bookstore and found a box of calendars tucked away in a lower shelf. They looked like the remnants of the calendar offerings. I chose one and was surprised it was not on sale, considering this is mid-February already. Then I went to Aroma cafe to have a bite to eat and a coffee. Aroma is one of the better cafes I’ve encountered here and they had a very nice (and popular) cafe in the mall. I ordered half a tuna sandwich and cappuccino.  They use the darker tuna in Israel (I have not been able to find solid albacore yet). The tuna did not have any mayo on it but whatever condiments they used were simply delish. One end of the cafe sits next to a large koi pond. It was a nice setting for my snack.

After lunch I went to the grocery store to pick up a few items. What a mistake that was. This is the Mega grocery store, which I have grown to abhore. It was manically crowded today. There was the usual mob of people around the express register. I chose another line with only two people ahead of me with small orders but it seemed to take an eternity to check out. I should know better than to go to a grocery store on a Friday afternoon.

All my errands were done. It was nearing 1:30 p.m. and still no sign of the vendors. I’ll have to get the scoop on this for another visit.

Oh, and one postscript — when I got home I discovered that the calendar runs from Sept. 2010 through Sept. 2011. I suppose this is because the Jewish New Year, Rosh Hashanah, usually falls in September.

Leave a Reply

