I Was Thrown A Cursive In Class Today

18 Feb

Hebrew alphabet in block letters

Hebrew alphabet in block letters

Hebrew cursive alphabet

Hebrew cursive alphabet

I had another Hebrew lesson today with a different instructor. I had been encouraged when the instructor informed us by email that we would start with the Hebrew alphabet. Yay, I thought, just what I’ve been waiting for. My enthusiasm was dashed, though, when I discovered that she chose to cover the cursive alphabet. The Hebrew cursive alphabet is very different from the block-letter alphabet, and much more difficult to decipher. I can’t fathom why she has chosen to teach the cursive alphabet since most printed Hebrew I see uses the block-letter alphabet: street signs, food labels, advertisements, posters, newspapers. The only time i see cursive Hebrew is in logos.

On the bright side, I now know that the mini market I go to near my house is indeed called “Mini Market”.

Leave a Reply

