Thou Shalt Not Overcook

13 Mar

Moses Restaurant

Moses Restaurant in Herzliya Pituach. The guy out front is a security guard.

There is a restaurant called Moses in Herzliya’s Industrial Zone. I’ve passed by it many times and have always been curious about it. The graphics on the restaurant are cute and funky. And the copy on the English pages of their website is clever.

Moses is a burger joint and a favorite of many ex-pats. It’s been quite a while since either of us has had a burger so to Moses we went last night. The funky graphic theme was carried out on the menus, placemats and business cards. Brad ordered the Art Burger (a combo of beef, lamb and veal) while I opted for the classic Moses burger (all beef). I ordered mine to be prepared medium rare while Brad ordered medium. One bite into mine and I realized my burger was really rare, not pink but bright red. Brad’s was the pink color I had been hoping for. Oh well. I didn’t send it back. The burgers were okay. A bit on the gristly side actually. My green salad was pretty good and Brad’s fried onion strings were tasty.

Next time we have a hankering for a burger I think we’ll try the Burgus Burger Bar across the street, even though their website is not as well designed as that of Moses.

 

3 Responses to “Thou Shalt Not Overcook”

  1. Alan March 14, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    The menu’s an odd cultural mix. Buffalo-originated chicken wings with yellow(!?) Louisiana tabasco (I lived outside Buffalo in the ’70s & sometimes went to the Anchor Bar there for the read thing. I can remember our getting all excited because we once found Buffalo chicken wings being served as far afield as in Albany!). Then there’s the shrimp as prepared in the style of far-inland Taos.

    • Lenora Genovese March 14, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

      I’m still scratching my head over the Missouri Burger…made from tofu!

      • Alan March 28, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

        It’s for those from Missouri — they’ve got to be shown.

Leave a Reply

