First Adventure With Peppino

7 Jun

Today I took Peppino out for our first drive outside Herzliya. My destination was the Italian Ambassador’s residence in Ramat Gan. The members of my Italian class, had been invited to a mid-morning coffee hosted by Stefania Mattiolo, the Italian Ambassador’s wife. I didn’t drive all the way to Ramat Gan but just as far as Ramat HaSharon. I parked Peppino in front of Liliane’s house who drove us to la Residenza. Liliane is a very nice woman I’ve met through the IWC. I learned today that her husband is a former ambassador to Israel from a South American country. They have been living in the Tel Aviv district since the 1960s.

Italian Ambassador's Residence in Israel

La Residenza

We had a lovely time at the Italian residence. Stefania served up some great strong coffee and tasty appetizers, both sweet and savory. I believe everyone of our group of eleven had a chance to chat directly with Stefania. She is friendly and personable — we are all on a first-name basis with her. I took the opportunity to inquire about interesting places to visit on my upcoming visit to Italy in November.

Italian Ambassador's Residence in Israel

La Residenza

Later, we all gathered for a group photo and then Stefania invited us all to a Gala Evening she will be hosting later this month in support of the Italian synagogue in Jerusalem, said to be one of the most exquisite in Israel.

My Italian Class

My Italian Class at La Residenza


Our gathering came to a close around noon. I rode back to Ramat HaSharon with Liliane and then Peppino and I headed back to Herzliya. I missed a turn going home and ended up on some back roads near the beach in Herzliya. It took me a while to figure my way back but I had fun getting to know how to handle Peppino.

Leave a Reply

