Oh Boy, Kinder Joy!

23 Jul

Kinder Joy

The Kinder Joy confection comes with a handy plastic spoon.

Brad and I have been big fans of Kinder Eggs (or Kinder Surprise) ever since we lived in Germany where the egg-shaped chocolate confections are widely available. If you’re not familiar with them, which is a good bet if you live in the States where they are banned, the chocolate eggs come with a plastic toy inside. Often the toy comes in small pieces that must be assembled, that being the main reason the eggs are banned in the U.S.

Not so here in Israel, where the natives are used to living life on the edge. I’ve been eyeing Kinder Eggs at the supermarket and convenience stores. The familiar red and white egg-shaped package is hard to miss. Some of the writing on the package is in Hebrew but the name emblazoned on the front is in English: Kinder Joy.

I thought it was just the Israeli version of Kinder Eggs, known as Kinder Sorpresa in Italy where they originate and Kinder Überraschung in Germany. I finally bought a couple of Kinder Joys for Brad and I to try. And we did get a surprise when we opened the package. Instead of a hollow chocolate egg with a toy inside, the egg broke into two separate plastic halves. One half held the toy and the other half an unusual but tasty confection that looks somewhat like a fried egg with chocolate yolks.

Wikipedia tells me that the Kinder Joy version is sold in Italy during the hot months of summer, being less prone to melting. It’s no wonder then that Kinder Joy is the version sold in Israel. I’ll have to keep an eye out to see if Kinder Sorpresas are available come winter.

4 Responses to “Oh Boy, Kinder Joy!”

  1. lovelylici1986 July 23, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Very cool! Kinder Suprises, apparently, are big in Canada. I lived in NS for almost 5 years and never noticed or tried one. It took a friend coming to visit me in The Bahamas from PEI, Canada, to introduce me to them. She brought a HUGE Kinder Surprise. In the giant egg there were about 6 little ones. We shared them around on the beach. I’m now in love with them and need to order online or something. Too bad I can’t send any to my little cousin in Louisiana.

    • Lenora Genovese July 23, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

      I’ve always wondered what came inside the giant Kinder Surprise. I’ve only ever seen the small ones. And, yes, once you’ve had one, there’s no turning back!

  2. Cenzo July 24, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    When I was in Rome last October, I remember seeing Kinder Eggs in several stores. It made me think of you. Always meant to buy some, but never got around to it.

Leave a Reply

