Belayed Birthday Greetings

28 Oct

 Belayed Birthday Greetings

It appears receiving my mail is a matter of sheer luck.

There are many strange things about our house on David Hamelech Street, the foremost being that it does not actually sit on David Hamelech Street. Our house is located on an alley off of David Hamelech. The house on the corner of David Hamelech and the alley has the same house number as our house, as well as the two other houses between our house and the one on the corner. These four houses should be labeled with A, B, C, D to differentiate one from the other. But no one has ever bothered to do it, neither the homeowners nor the municipality.

Confused? Apparently the postman is too. Since we moved in ten months ago we often receive mail intended for our neighbors. And we continue to receive mail for our landlord who used to live in this house. I’ve tried keeping a lookout for the postman so I can talk to him directly about this but I never seem to catch him on his route. I went to the post office twice to rectify the matter, but the landlord’s mail keeps coming.

But today the ultimate blunder occurred. I took a walk to run some errands and upon my return I approached the house on the corner of our street and our alley…the house with the same house number as ours. I noticed there was an envelope on the sidewalk in front of that house. It was stamped and postmarked. And then I noticed it was addressed to me! My personal mail. Just lying there on the sidewalk. I snatched it up. The envelope was dirty and had obviously been rained upon. Turns out it was a birthday card from one of my relatives in Sicily. It was addressed correctly to me. But apparently the postman here cannot figure out how to deliver mail properly, even though we have been living here for ten months and have our names clearly marked on our mailbox.

Grrrrr.

I’ve placed a call to the housing manager with B’s employer and wheels are in motion to get this situation under control.

5 Responses to “Belayed Birthday Greetings”

  1. Domenica October 29, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    Lenora, that is unbelievable! I forgot to tell you that I talked to Rosetta last week and she asked if you received the card she sent. I told her I wasn’t sure. You’ll have to tell her this story! : )

  2. Vincenzo November 2, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Lenora, I just retrieved this email out of my Spam box. It only was posted there today – I think you sent this 4 days ago. Hmmm, just coincidence???? 😉

    • Lenora Genovese November 2, 2011 at 10:11 am #

      Cenzo…you’re kidding right?

      • Vincenzo November 2, 2011 at 10:39 am #

        No, it’s true. I had to fish it out of postini, my Spam mail program.

  3. Lenora Genovese November 2, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    That is so weird…so I am *virtually* having the same problem with my mail.

Leave a Reply

