Goodbye Israemploy!

5 Nov

falafel

Does being an expert at eating falafel count?

The two most difficult things to accomplish as I accompany my husband on his overseas assignments are: 1) finding a new hair stylist and 2) finding gainful employment for myself. As noted in a previous post, I’ve finally found my hair stylist. And as of last week, I have accepted a job!

It’s a part-time job (16 hours per week) doing what I love: designing and editing a newsletter and being a blogmaster. Aside from this work, I’m webmastering another site on a pro bono basis. And I’ve got a freelance design project in development.

This means I can unsubscribe from the many online job listings I’ve been following since my arrival in Israel. One of those sites, Israemploy, provided a comprehensive list of positions available, ranging from doctors and lawyers to housemaids and farm workers. Listings for graphic designers came in waves, were mostly for highly technical web positions, and usually required knowledge of Hebrew. I found I had to google some of the job titles I was unfamiliar with: melamed (religious teacher), ganenet (kindergarten teacher), madrich (camp counselor or tour guide). I’m sure some of the jobs I saw listed were unique to the Middle East: camel farm hand, falafel and shawarma expert. Other listings just made me scratch my head in wonder: pasteurizer, pizzaiolo, biologist (work from home), gum disease expert, back office person, ethical hacker.

I can’t say that it was fun trolling through the job listings on Israemploy but I do feel I learned a bit about Israeli culture in the process.

4 Responses to “Goodbye Israemploy!”

  1. Anne November 5, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Ethical hacker? Isn’t that an oxymoron? Anyway, mazal tov on all the new and exciting projects on your plate!

  2. Lenora Genovese November 5, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    Thanks, Anne! Working on one of those new, exciting projects right now. ;–)

  3. taelcat November 6, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    Congrats on the new job! Yay!

Leave a Reply

