I Got the Christmas Blues

4 Dec

pandoro motta

A touch of Christmas, Italian-style; beautiful to look at and oh so delicious.

I’ve been so busy since my return from Italy that I haven’t had a chance to begin preparations for Christmas until this weekend. I went to look for our Christmas ornaments and could not find them anywhere. I went to look for our stash of Christmas cards. Nowhere to be found. After searching in every nook and cranny of our house I scraped my brain cells trying to remember what happened to our Christmas stuff.

B and I both believe that the movers must have inadvertently packed up our Christmas stuff with the items that went into storage. I had managed to pull out a few items to ship separately but only a very few. We believe the rest of our Christmas decorations are sitting somewhere in a warehouse in the States.

We cancelled our planned trip to the Israel Museum today to go on a hunt for Christmas cards and decorations. I had heard about a church in Jaffa that was having the grand opening of their Christmas Sale today. So off to Jaffa we went. We entered the hall of St. Anthony’s church and saw a room full of Christmas kitsch. I did pick out a few ornaments that I wouldn’t be too embarrassed to display but the real prize was the Pandoro I spotted on one of the tables. I managed to grab the last available package.

After that we racked our brains trying to think of where in the world in Israel can one find Christmas decorations and cards?? We’re still trying to figure that one out as the holiday mail deadline approaches.

2 Responses to “I Got the Christmas Blues”

  1. Anne December 4, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    Nazareth my dear – all the Christmas kitch your heart could desire. And thanks for the Currently Reading plug – I love that I’m on your bedside table!!!

  2. Lenora Genovese December 4, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Wow! Thanks for the quick response. I should have known to ask you first!

Leave a Reply

