One Year Already!

15 Dec

Today marks the one-year anniversary of our arrival in Israel. So much has happened since that day of our arrival at Ben Gurion airport.

Welcome to Israel

In the first few months of living here I spent a good part of my days exploring our neighborhood on foot while hubby drove into downtown Tel Aviv for work. I got to know Herzliya Pituach pretty well.

Hibiscus

Hedges of hisbicus surround many properties in my neighborhood

Hoopoe

I'm always delighted when I see a hoopoe in the 'hood.

Beach in Herzliya

A fifteen-minute walk to the beach

On weekends we began to visit historic sites near and far.

Caesarea

Caesarea

Beit Shean

Beit Shean

Akko

Akko

I joined some social clubs and made lots of friends with whom I’ve been exploring the area. I’ve been studying Hebrew and Arabic, visiting museums and markets, restaurants and cafes. I offered my graphic design services on a volunteer basis to some non-profit organizations and have been able to keep my design skills honed. Just recently, I took a part-time job in Tel Aviv. This brings me into the city on a regular basis, satisfying my affinity for city life. I find Tel Aviv to be a curious mix of grit and refinement with an edgy artistic sensibility.

Tel Aviv Grafitti

Tel Aviv Grafitti

Cinema Hotel

Cinema Hotel

Neve Tzedek

Neve Tzedek

As with all places there are both good things and bad about my new home.

cappuccino

Good: Delicious coffee at nearly every cafe . . . and no Starbucks here!

Hummus

Good: Yummy food!

Shop in Jerusalem

Good: Exotic shopping

dog waste disposal

Bad: I don't think anyone uses these dog waste disposal bags. In fact, pet dogs are allowed to run free in the neighborhood and there are way too many stray cats.

Tel Aviv Traffic

Bad: Horrendous traffic, crazy drivers, parking nightmares

I wonder what the coming year will bring? If it flies by as quickly as this past year has I had better hold on for the ride.

4 Responses to “One Year Already!”

  1. Anne December 15, 2011 at 11:29 pm #

    Mazal Tov on your one year anniversary! I’m glad the good things outweigh the bad. Here’s to another and another year – happily spent!

  2. Vincenzo December 16, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    And one year+ for this terrific blog. Thanks for all the great posts and photos! Next best thing to being there.

    • Lenora Genovese December 16, 2011 at 6:48 am #

      Thanks, ‘Cenzo. Hope you get a chance for the best thing and are able to come for a visit before the next year is over.

Leave a Reply

