Going Offline and Heading North

1 Jul

In the wee hours of the morning (4 a.m. to be exact!), Brad and I will be heading to the airport for a flight to Amsterdam. We’ll spend one night in Amsterdam. The next day we will make our way to the cruise ship dock in Amsterdam where we will begin a cruise to Norway with Royal Caribbean. This will be our second cruise with RCI — on the first one, we had a splendid time exploring the Baltic.

We had lovely weather on our Baltic Cruise. Not sure if we’ll be so lucky this time. The extended forecast I’ve been looking at shows nothing but rain, thunderstorms and cloud cover. So, even though the sun will rise around 4 a.m. and won’t set till after 9 p.m., we may not see much of it anyhow! But no matter. I’m sure we’ll have a great time. I’ll try to touch base online from internet cafes at the different ports of call…but for the most part, I’ll be offline for the duration of the cruise.

It wasn’t until I created the interactive Google map shown above that I got an appreciation of route the cruise takes. The paths I traced through the fjords and around the many islands off the coast of Norway are conjecture on my part. There seem to be many ways to go and I’m sure the ship captain will know best! You can explore the map more closely by clicking on it or this link.

Leave a Reply

