Homeward Bound

15 Sep

Labels placed on all drawers and cabinets.

We’re moving back home in just over two weeks. I’ve been having restless nights and fleeting moments of panic. Can’t understand why. This is the fourth time we’ve moved from an overseas post. And that’s not counting the moves I experienced as an army brat. But there is no escaping this fact: Each move is different. Each move is difficult in its own way. I’ve made some great friends while living here in Israel and have been involved in a wonderful social circuit. Plus, I had a great part-time job doing what I love to do. Now, we head back home. No more jaunts to Jerusalem or Jericho. And I will be unemployed again.

But, yay! We will be close to family and friends we haven’t seen for awhile. I won’t have to screw up the courage to speak in a foreign language when I go shopping. Yup. I’ll be riding this roller coaster for awhile.

The movers will arrive this Wednesday to pack up our stuff. Lucky for us, thanks to Rosh Hashanah, we have a four-day weekend to organize for  the move. Let’s hope we take advantage of these days off. When we moved here we were up till 2 a.m. the night before the movers arrived.

I’m using plastic containers left over from purchases as fruit and veggie bowls so that my usual decorative bowls can be ready for the movers.

To get organized for the move, we must separate our stuff for two different shipments. One goes by air (essential stuff needed right away) and the other goes by sea (all the rest). The challenge this time around is that we do not move into a hotel right after the movers leave. We will be in the house for another two weeks before we fly out. We don’t move into a hotel because the house has been furnished by the government. We will have a “welcome kit” (the same sort of kit we received when we first arrived here) with essential housewares, linens, ironing board and even a TV (AFN reception only). I’m having a hard time adjusting to this weird two-week period when we’ll be in limbo. And I’m cringing at the fact that we’ll be using govt.-issue towels and sheets. Actually, they’re really fine and it’s what we used when we first arrived here.

This past week, I started organizing for the move in my studio. It is the most cluttered room in the house. It took me a few days to get the room in order.

I spent most of today in the kitchen, organizing and sorting. I’ve relegated the den as the repository for most of the air shipment items. In the kitchen, I’ve labeled all the drawers and cabinets according to which shipment the contents are destined for.

The den is now the air shipment sector. Items on the shelves are destined for the household goods shipment — going by sea.

Brad has been doing a lot to get ready for the move as well. Packing up electronics. Sorting most of the stuff in the basement. Sorting items in the guest room.

Well, fading fast now. Must toddle off to bed. Tomorrow we head out to Jaffa early for one last browse through the flea market.

2 Responses to “Homeward Bound”

  1. Domenica September 16, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Lenora, I know it must be crazy getting ready to ship out….but we are looking forward to your return!

Leave a Reply

