Going Offline

30 Sep

I was napping this afternoon when I woke with the sudden realization that tomorrow our internet service ends. Yikes! Time for one more post before we leave Israel. I don’t have anything deep or profound to say. Only that I will miss living in this region much more than I’d ever dreamed I would. I’m hoping that my previous posts attest to all the reasons why. Add these recent experiences to the list:

After my early morning visit to the Israeli govt. vet to get the paperwork signed and stamped for Baxter and Lulu, I met up with my friend Anne K, who lives nearby. She treated me to breakfast at a cafe at Ramat HaNadiv, one of the places on my long list of places to visit before we leave Israel. Anne and I met months ago at a Mah Jongg game, something I’ve always considered to be a good omen. We will continue our friendship…and collaboration on a book…after I leave. (photos by Anne and our waiter.)

We had a fabulous breakfast at the cafe at Ramat HaNadiv

Cafe at Ramat HaNadiv

Memorial Garden at Ramat HaNadiv

Brad and I took one more walk along the Med this morning, wading in the water as the tide came in. We’ve just begun to move out of the summer season here and have witnessed some light sprinkles and blustery skies. This view of the mosque, near where we usually access the beach, was particularly engaging this morning.

Sidna Ali Mosque

We had lunch at one of the area’s best restaurants, Segev. I must thank Anne for introducing me to this fab establishment, just minutes from our house in Herzliya Pituach. Everything was delicious and served in inimitable style.

Brad’s serving of Scorched Tuna

My serving of Drum Fish Filet

2 Responses to “Going Offline”

  1. Anne September 30, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    WOW! I got credit for taking you to two of our country’s gems – Segev Restaurant in Herzliya Pituach and Ramat HaNadiv. I’ll expect no less when I visit Baltimore! Its been a pleasure knowing you Lenora, a gift from Mindy’s mahh jong (which I never could catch on to). Bon Voyage, or rather Nisiah Tovah. Go in peace and return (soon!) in peace.

    • Lenora Genovese September 30, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      And you deserve the credit, as well!! Thanks so much for everything. I’ve got a tough order to fill when you come to Baltimore, hon.

Leave a Reply

