Too Much Stuff

22 Oct

Just a few of the tins in my collection

We’re just about finished unpacking the boxes of stuff we had in storage and I can only conclude we have too much stuff. This is stuff we haven’t used in two years. I was tempted to just tell the movers to dump everything in the trash. I mean if we can do without this stuff for two years, we can do without it forever…right?

Wrong.

Why is it I can’t bear to part with my record collection? Then there’s my matchbook collection and sugar packet collection. Not to mention my collection of wine bottle corks, restaurant business cards, post cards, beer coasters, and subway cards from Tokyo. Oh, and then there’s my collection of tea pots and decorative tins. I’m sure I’m forgetting another collection or two.

Not even half of my tea pot collection.

I managed to acquire new items in Israel for some of my collections: sugar packets, restaurant business cards and wine bottle corks, for example. But my matchbook collection is doomed, now that smoking has been banned just about everywhere.

Oh, yes, I remember one other collection of mine: Baxter’s and Lulu’s whiskers! Yes, I know. I’m nuts.

2 Responses to “Too Much Stuff”

  1. Domenica October 22, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Yeah, it’s tough collecting matchbooks these days. I still prize the matchbook I saved from my visit to the restaurant at the top of the world trade center. But whiskers? Now you’ve lost me!

    • Lenora Genovese October 22, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      Every time either Brad or I find a whisker shed by Baxter or Lulu it gets placed in a small water reservoir for Japanese calligraphy (beautifully crafted from metal). Perhaps we’ll make a brush out of those whiskers someday!

Leave a Reply

