Easter and Passover

31 Mar

homemade matzoh ball soupIn my own personal bid for tolerance and peacemaking, I decided to celebrate Easter this year by serving Passover foods. Really, though, while I do uphold those lofty ideals, the real reason behind my unorthdox orthodox meal plan was because I love cooking with matzoh! (after all, this is my second post in a row featuring a photo of matzo ball soup.) This morning, I prepared matzoh brei for breakfast — yum! I’ve already plans for a different version for next Sunday morning. Easter dinnerWas I stretching the rules a bit by counting my Negroni cocktail as the bitter herb course? After all, the key ingredient is Campari, which is a bitter apéritif made from herbs and fruit. The opening course for Easter dinner was homemade matzoh ball soup. Main course, which I believe would be Seder-acceptable, was chile-braised beef short ribs with potatoes and carrots. Side dish was roasted asparagus. Oh, and I’m pretty sure I drank at least four cups of wine! Pineapple Upside down cakeWe broke all the rules, however, with my sister JoAnn’s luscious dessert: pineapple upside down cake.

4 Responses to “Easter and Passover”

  1. Domenica March 31, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    You are such an adventurous cook. Brad is a lucky guy!

    • Lenora Genovese April 1, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      I’m lucky he agrees to be the guinea pig whenever I experiment with new recipes!

  2. Mindy Bogin April 1, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    Still love your blogs! Glad you took a piece of Israel with you 🙂 Sounds like a delicious meal, Happy Easter!!

Leave a Reply

