Recipe for Nostalgia

11 May

empanada_recipe
I made empanadas this weekend to bring to a Cinco de Mayo celebration. It’s my Mom’s recipe, one that I used to make a lot for parties but haven’t made in years and years. I managed to dig up the recipe card my Mom inscribed those many years ago. I love looking at her familiar handwriting and especially how she used every inch of the 3×5 card with instructions on how to make these little wicked delicacies. Gosh how I miss her!

2 Responses to “Recipe for Nostalgia”

  1. Domenica May 12, 2014 at 6:10 am #

    I remember these…they are delicious. I didn’t realize it was mom’s recipe. How nice to see the card.

    • Lenora Genovese May 12, 2014 at 8:31 am #

      Yeah, I love looking at the notes she added higgledy-piggiedy. And the good news is these aren’t as high in calories as I initially thought they’d be…at least if you make them with low-fat cream cheese. They are 65 calories each.

Leave a Reply

